Thursday, December 10, 2015


Cebu Daily Newspaper
December 10, 2015 issue
by Jonas Panerio

News link

YOUNG rider Ana Patricia “Ica” Maximo continued to perform beyond her age as she won the Women’s 19-and-over and Juniors 18-and-under classes in the Cebu Criterium Championships held last weekend in Toledo City.

Representing, the 16-year-old Maximo from Sacred Heart School-Hijas de Cebu bested several senior and junior riders who answered the call in the combined race.

Ica, as she is more popularly known in cycling circles, actually won both races but was allowed to claim only the Women Junior prize. However, she was given an additional bonus of P3,000 for her achievement.

The race was dubbed as the “Race for Nilo Barbalose” as the proceeds of the race were to be given to the fallen rider. It was organized by Keith DeFeibre of California in the United States.

“This is my biggest prize so far and I’m grateful to Keith DeFiebre for promoting women and junior cycling in Cebu. I hope this can make the sport more popular,” said Maximo, a double medalist in the Philippine National Games (PNG) Track Cycling.

Meanwhile, Cory dela Cruz of Bacolod City was awarded first place in the Women 19-and-over category followed by Cebuana Andrea with Toledo City rider Daisy Batac placing third.

In other results, the Men Junior 18-and-under crown went to Raymart Tampus of Lapu-Lapu City and was followed by Rhyke Armas of Balamban and Yuan Chiongbian. Roy Carbonera of Talisay won the Men Open while Ronnel Hualda and Jayboo Pagnanawon finished in second and third, respectively. Jonel Carcueva won the 19-44 age class while Amon Espinosa got second place. Donkey Sanchez completed the podium finish.

The Men 45-and-above was ruled by DeFiebre while Philip Sainz and Rolando Pagnanawon took home the silver and bronze medal, respectively.

Tuesday, December 08, 2015