Thursday, January 22, 2004


Courtesy of Sun Star Newspaper (
Thursday, January 22, 2004 issue

FOR the second straight year, Edward Hayco, the sports director of Team Cebu City–Dancesport, has been voted Sportsman of the Year of the Sportwriters Association of Cebu-San Miguel Corporation All Cebu Sports Awards.

The 22nd SAC-SMC All-Cebu Sports Awards will be on March 6 at a still undisclosed venue. Hayco was the unanimous choice for the prestigious award for his tremendous and unselfish support that paved the way for the resurgence and growing popularity of dancesport in Cebu.

Upon Hayco’s intercession, Team Cebu City-Dancesport has successfully competed in various national and international events in Australia, Hong Kong and Taipei.

Presidential awardees, on the other hand, are Cebu Football Association’s (CebuFA) president Jonathan ‘Maxi’ Maximo and CVCB chairman Patrick ‘Pato’ Gregorio, for their undying and unselfish support in the development of Cebu sports.

Since taking over the presidency of CebuFA, Maximo has brought back the association to life and has gained the trust of the Cebuano football community, while Gregorio, through CVCB, has been relentless in his thrust to promote Cebu as the prime hub of sports tourism in the country.

This year’s Orlando C. Sanchez (Orlacsan) award will go to TCC-Dancesport trainers Leodegario ‘Jun-Jun’ Marante and Maricris Hermosa. The Orlacsan award is given to a person or persons who have done something invaluable for sports development despite meager resources.

Marante and Hermosa have been chosen for the award for sharing their talents to kids with potential in dancesport.

Major awards will also be given to athletes who have made Cebu proud with their spectacular and outstanding performances in international events. For billiards, the hands down choice is Warren Kiamco for clinching the gold in the 9-Ball Doubles event of the 22nd Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam.

Best for bowling last year was Sheena Go who took the championship in two events in Guam – the 2nd Guam International Open and the 2nd Pepsi Youth Masters. For his impressive one-round knockout of Gehnki Ohnaka that made him the new OPBF minimum-weight titleholder, Rodel ‘Batang Mandaue’ Mayol will be accorded with the major award in professional boxing, while Caesar Augustus Amonsot is the recipient for amateur boxing after he won three national titles in knockout fashion.

The tandem of Crisaldo ‘Loloi’ Rendon and Eleanor Hayco are the dancesport awardees for bagging the gold in the Masters 1 Latin and bronze in the Masters 1 Standard of the 2003 FATD National Capital Dancesport in Canberra, Australia.

Shining for karatedo are siblings Sugar Ray and Luche Metante. Both finished with bronze medals in the Hanoi, Vietnam SEA Games.

In bodybuilding, Roman V. Cortuna Jr. will be lauded for clinching a silver in the Vietnam SEA Games 65-kilogram category, while Rosielyn Ocampo will be feted for garnering two silver and two bronze medals in the 2nd ASEAN PARAGames in Vietnam.

Lawn tennis major awardee is small but terrible Bernardine “Nino” Siso for maintaining his No.1 ranking in the 10-Under division.

RP mountainbike team mainstays Eusebio “Eboy” QuiƱones and Maritess Bitbit have been cited for their remarkable performances in the Vietnam SEA Games.

All major awardees will contend for the prestigious “Athlete of the Year” award, which will be known during the awarding ceremonies.

No comments: