Thursday, May 25, 2006


Courtesy of Sun Star Newspaper (
Thursday, May 25, 2006 issue
by Mike Limpag, Staff Reporter

The Philippine team to the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Asian Under-14 Football Festival just got another Cebuano in the line-up.

This after Cebu Football Association president Jonathan Maximo was appointed head of the Philippine delegation to the May 29 to June 4 tournament.

This will be Maximo’s second football-related trip to Malaysia after representing the Philippines in the AFC Asian Youth Re-education Course in 2004.

“This won’t be an easy job. I have to leave for Manila tomorrow to check on the team,” said Maximo. “They are having final training now at the Ultra.

“I’ll be out of Cebu for 12 days; I may have to close my company,” Maximo, a businessman, half-jokingly said.

Paref-Springdale’s Joshua Cruz, Evanjames Mendoza and Kevin Tecson are also on the team, which will compete with teams from Indonesia, Maldives, Cambodia, Laos and Malaysia.

Other members of the team are Florence Agraviador (Negros Occidental), Ronald Batisla-ong (Iloilo), Christian De Juan (Iloilo), Rob Francis Famador (Dumaguete), Irvin Joearl (Cagayan de Oro), Ken Kazuo Hager (Switzerland), Henry Llaban (Iloilo), Michael Mabanag (Quezon City), Jesus Joaquin Melliza (Iloilo), Klieff Ian Pasquin (Iloilo), Warren Rosillo (Cagayan de Oro), Darwin Salavia (Davao City), Ian Soliman (Laguna), Jimer Telebanco (Negros Occidental) and Joseph Villarino (Negros Occidental).

As head of delegation, Maximo will deal with the team’s needs and deal with the local organizing committee. He will also submit a comprehensive post-competition report to the president and the technical development committee of the Philippine Football Federation. (ML)

No comments: