Tuesday, January 01, 2008


Courtesy of THE FREEMAN Newspaper (www.philstar.com)December 23, 2007 Sunday Issue
By Caecent No-ot Magsumbol, Staff Reporter
Manny Villaruel, Sports Editor

The University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R) Spiking Jaguars exacted vengeance at the University of San Carlos (USC) Golden Booters, dethroning the Carolinians via a 2-0 whitewash to emerge as the new football champion of the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation, Inc. (CESAFI) yesterday at the USC-TC field in Talamban.

It was no less a sweet redemption for USJ-R, which lost in the final last year to the same rivals.

USC may have played with cooler heads, but USJ-R proved to be the hungrier and more determined squad.

Both squads were scoreless in the first half. As the game progressed, tension flared up with six players from USJ-R being slapped with a yellow card each as warning for unsportsmanlike behavior. They are Joven Torres, Paul dela Victoria, Arlon Sabal, Edward Lachica and Eduardo Buglasa.

Inspite of that, USJ-R coach Joselito Bono was able to pacify his players and let them focus in the game and just do whatever they can.

And as good soldiers, Robert Mamac and Alselmo Palmones stepped up the gas and sink a goal each in a span of seven minutes. Mamac found the back of the net at the 72nd. Less than 10 minutes later, Palmares delivered another goal for USJ-R.

Thus, USJ-R regained its throne after two years of waiting. USJ-R was the king of CESAFI collegiate football college until the Univesity of the Visayas (UV) halted its reign in 2005.

The Spiking Jaguars made it to the championship last year but lost to USC.

The rest of the USJ-R players are Marvin Abelgas, Franco Cedullo, Michael De los Santos, Ronan De Guzman, Ralph Gaite, Heron Isugan, Jonathan Jamili, Floren Luague, Robert Manayon, Adrianne Mejaran, Rowell Unabia, Earl Yagao, and Nathaniel Yburan.

In the battle for third, University of Southern Philippines Foundation (USPF) Spiking Panthers defeated the University of Cebu (UC) Webmasters via penalty shotout, 4-2.

Among those who delivered the winning goals for USPF were John Cosayan, Rodriguez,Deck Pacana and Jonathan Tan.

The event ended on a successful note under the supervision of tournament director and former Cebu Football Association (CebuFA) president Jonathan “Maxi” Maximo.

No comments: