Sunday, February 05, 2012


Published in Cebu Daily News on Feb. 5, 2012 Sunday issue
Pooled Report
Rick Gabuya, Sports Editor

The Sportswriters Association of Cebu (SAC) will hold its 30th annual SAC-San Miguel Brewery All-Cebu Sports Awards on March 3 at the Ayala Center Cebu Terraces.

This year's batch will be led by Cebuano athletes who won medals in the Southeast Asian Games last year and the country's latest grandmaster in chess.

Among those who are set to receive major awards this year are Southeast Asian Games medalists Julius Nierras, Dondon Sombrio, Rubilen Amit, Gregory Slaughter, Roel Empaces, Jonas Ponce, Jasper Cabrera, Ben Maravilles, Oscar Bradshaw, Darius and Jerome Bacarisas, John Mier, Nino Surban, Kiyomi Watanabe, Richard Gonzales and Orencio James delos Santos.

Also set to receive major awards are Richard Bitoon, who became the country's 16th grandmaster last year, Raffy Senining, Harry Don Radaza, the University of Cebu (UC) Webmasters, the University of the Visayas (UV) Baby Lancers, bowling champion Ronnan Barredo, two-division world champion Donnie Nietes, the Don Bosco Technology Center (DBTC) high school football team, Teodoro Martus, Beariza Roble, Glenn Lava, and Milo Marathon national finals women's champion Mary Grace delos Santos.

The major awardees are automatic candidates for the Athlete of the Year award, which will be announced on March 3.


Ultramarathoner Melinda Ponce, who died last year, will also get a posthumous award for her contribution to the sport.

Aside from the major awardees, SAC will also hand out citations to Palarong Pambansa medalists Irene Baluran and Ernesto Ybanez, three-time driver of the year David G. Lim, the Banilad Elementary School and UC high school badminton teams, Britt Carlo Reroma, Jerie Marlon Pingoy, Dawn Hynric Ochea, Aldrich Ramos, Julio Sy Jr., Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu passerelle team, June Mar Fajardo, Andres Paul Desiderio, University of Southern Philippines Foundation's beach volleyball team's Apple Eve Saraum and Erika Camille Verano, Cebu Tenpin Bowling Association, Milan Melindo, Rey Bautista, AJ Banal, Rocky Fuentes, Sammy Gello-ani, Leon Panoncillo, Kim Steven Yap, Luis Maximo, Luis Ansag and Dancesport Team Cebu City.

Footballer Jose Paolo Aragon Pascual, who made the national senior team, will also receive a citation along with national team coaches Oliver Colina, Glenn Ramos, national champion DBTC elementary football team, Lloyd Jefferson Go, Carmelli Garrovillo, the UV gymnastics team, Eichi Yahata, Jonlery Caniga, Jon Eleazar Adlawan, Marnel Dimla, Merlita Arias-Dunkin, Bayani Alvarez, Emily Chiongbian, Mary Joy Tabal, rugby's Noel Flowers, Rose Mae Lanticse, Marie Antonette Gambito, Madille Salinas, Blessie Kate De Los Santos, Aiumi Ono, Eloisa Jordan, Mae Ann Ubaub, Ann Kristine Mae Layumas and Jessica Filoteo.

Rhey Jey Ortouste, the youngest member of the national sepak takraw team, will also be feted along with Anthony Linn Navarro, Daniel Jay Tormis, Jacob Lagman, Arthur Craig Pantino, Cebu International Tennie Center, Inc., Noy Jopson, Rochelle Tan, Lorhiz Echavez-Lopez.

Baseball and softball patron Jesse Bernad, who helped form a Cebu little league team and helped bring in Major League Baseball legend Ken Griffey Jr., will also be cited for his contribution along with Canduman Elementary School's Jun Santillan , who helped start the football program of Canduman and the Mandaue Technical Institute./POOLED REPORT

No comments: