Sunday, February 05, 2012


Published in The Freeman Newspaper on Feb. 5, 2012 Sunday issue
Pooled Report
Manny Villaruel, Sports Editor

CEBU, Philippines - The outstanding achievers in Cebu sports during the past year will formally be feted come the 30th San Miguel Corporation-Sporwriters Association of Cebu (SMC-SAC) All-Cebu Sports Awards on March 3 at The Terraces of Ayala Center Cebu.

This year’s batch of honorees will be led by Cebuano athletes who won medals in the 2011 Southeast Asian (SEA) Games in Palembang, Indonesia and the newest Cebuano grandmaster in chess.

Set to receive major awards are SEAG medallists Julius Nierras, Dondon Sombrio, Rubilen Amit, Gregory Slaughter, Roel Empacis, Jonas Ponce, Jasper Cabrera, Ben Maravilles, Oscar Bradshaw, Darius and Jerome Bacarisas, John Rene Mier, Nino Surban, Kiyome Watanabe, Richard Gonzales and Orencio James de los Santos.

They will be joined by Richard Bitoon, the country's 16th chess grandmaster, Raffy Senining, Harry Don Radaza, the University of Cebu (UC) Webmasters, the University of the Visayas (UV) Baby Lancers, bowling champion Ronnan Barredo, two-division world boxing champion Donnie Nietes, the Don Bosco Technology Center high school football team, Teodoro Martus, Beariza Roble, Glenn Lava, and National Milo Marathon women’s champion Mary Grace de los Santos.

The major awardees are automatic candidates for the Athlete of the Year award, which will be announced on the big night.

Ultramarathoner Melinda Ponce, who died last year, will get a posthumous award for her contribution to long distance running.

SAC will also hand out citations to those who have helped promote their respective sports.

They are Palarong Pambansa medallists Irene Baluran and Ernesto YbaƱez, three-time Driver of the Year David G. Lim, Banilad elementary and UC high school badminton teams, Britt Carlo Reroma, Jerie Marlon Pingoy, Dawn Hynric Ochea, Aldrich Ramos, Julio Sy Jr., Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu passerelle team, June Mar Fajardo, Andres Paul Desiderio, beach volley players Apple Eve Saraum and Erika Camille Verano, Cebu Tenpin Bowling Association, Milan Melindo, Rey Bautista, AJ Banal, Rocky Fuentes, Sammy Gello-ani, Leon Panoncillo, Kim Steven Yap, Luis Miguel Maximo, Luis Ansag and Dancesport Team Cebu City.

The rest of the awardees include footballer Jose Paolo Aragon Pascual, coaches Oliver Colina and Glenn Ramos, Don Bosco elementary football team, Lloyd Jefferson Go, Carmelli Garrovillo, UV gymnastics team, Eichi Yahata, Jonlery Caniga, Jon Eleazar Adlawan, Marnel Dimla, Merlita Arias-Dunkin, Bayani Alvarez, Emily Chiongbian, Mary Joy Tabal, Noel Flowers, Rose Mae Lanticse, Marie Antonette Gambito, Madille Salinas, Blessie Kate de Los Santos, Aiumi Ono, Eloisa Jordan, Mae Ann Ubaub, Ann Kristine Mae Layumas and Jessica Filoteo.

Rhey Jey Ortouste, the youngest member of the national sepak takraw team, will also be feted along with Anthony Linn Navarro, Daniel Jay Tormis, Jacob Lagman, Arthur Craig Pantino, Cebu International Tennis Center, Inc., Noy Jopson, Rochelle Tan and Lorhiz Echavez-Lopez.

Baseball and softball patron Jesse Bernad will also be cited along with Canduman Elementary School’s Jun Santillan and the Mandaue Technical Institute (MTI).—Pooled report - (THE FREEMAN)

No comments: