Friday, July 16, 2010


Published in The Freeman Newspaper on July 16, 2010 Friday issue
by Caecent Magsumbol, Staff Writer
Manny Villaruel, Sports Editor

CEBU, Philippines - Ramon Espinosa got the surprise of everyone after he ruled category B of the Danao-Ilihan Road Race in Danao City.

Espinosa defeated one of Cebu’s top triathletes Elmo Clarabal, while another veteran cyclist Tyre Lambo ended third.

Noy Jopson, the fastest Pinoy entry in last year’s Ironman Philippines, settled for fourth, while Orlan Toring came in fifth.

Completing the top 10 finishers were Art Lambo, event organizer Ome Rodriguez, Ralph Sios-e, John Gayatin, and Ronald Alconera.

Ronnie Adlawan, on the other hand, bested 26 other entries to lord it over in class C.
Diding Jaluag trailed Adlawan, while Raffy Bacayo, Tats Codina and Tata Ty occupied the third to fifth spots.

The fast-rising cyclist Luis Miguel “Igi” Maximo finished the race covering 70 kilometers but missed the top spot as he was seemingly tired from the Individual Time Trial in mountainbike he competed a day before the road race.

In class D, Jaime Noynay clinched the top honors followed by Nelson Jaca, Crispin Solon, Pepe Rosales and Delfin Omisol.

The equally-exciting mountainbike action saw Asay Navarro dominating the race followed by Bryan Lozano. – THE FREEMAN

No comments: