Saturday, March 03, 2012


Published in Sun Star Newspaper on Mar. 3, 2012 Saturday issue
Pooled Report
Mike Limpag, Sports Editor

THEY provided color and drama to Cebu sports last year for their stirring exploits in their respective disciplines.

Now it’s their time to shine again. The best and brightest stars of Cebu sports in 2011 will finally get that well-deserved recognition during the 30th Sportswriters Association of Cebu-San Miguel Corp. (SAC-SMC) All-Cebu Sports Awards at The Terraces of Ayala Center Cebu, which will have Philippines Sports Commissioner Joaquin “Chito” Loyzaga as the guest of honor and keynote speaker.

The other highlight of the affair is the handing out of the “Sportsman of the Year” award to Harry Don Radaza, the architect behind Lapu-Lapu City’s swift transformation into an international sports hub.

Radaza help bring two Davis Cup ties in Mactan just months apart and also started a unique physical fitness program among the Oponganons by holding a weekly, barangay-based running event in their area.

Sports patron Raffy Senining will be the recipient of the Orlando C. Sanchez Memorial Award while a Posthumuous Award is up for the late Merlinda Ponce, a running buff who made her mark as an ultra-marahoner before her tragic death.

On the other hand, two-division world boxing champion Donnie “Ahas” Nietes, Southeast Asian (SEA) Games cycling gold medallist John Rene Mier, chess Grandmaster Richard Bitoon, running queen Mary Grace de los Santos, and billiards master Rubilen Amit will also take centerstage in the ceremony that will start at 3:30 p.m.

The rest of the major awardees are Julius Nierras (athletics), Dondon Sombrio (archery), Roel Empacis, Jonas Ponce, Darius Bacarisas, Jeromeo Bacarisas, Jasper Cabrera, Ben Maravilles and Oscar Bradshaw (baseball/football), University of Cebu (UC) Webmasters, University of the Visayas (UV) Baby Lancers and Greg Slaughter (basketball), Ronnan Barredo and Alexis Sy (bowling), WBO Vice President for the Asia and Pacific Leon Panoncillo, Niño Surban (cycling). Don Bosco Technology Center (football), Kiyomi Watanabe (judo), Orencio James de los Santos (karatedo), Johnlery Caniga (Mixed Martial Arts), Teodoro Martus (scrabble), Beariza Roble (swimming), Glenn Lava (taekwondo), Richard Gonzales (table tennis) and Christopher Bureros (weightlifting).


They are all contenders for the coveted Athlete of the Year award.

Those who will be given special citations are Irene Baluran and Ernesto Ybañez (athletics), David G. Lim (autocross), Banilad Elementary School and UC (badminton), Jesse Bernad (batted sports), Britt Carlo Reroma, Jerie Marlon Pinggoy, Dawn Henric Ochea, Aldrich Ramos, Julio Sy, Jr., SHS-Ateneo Passerelle Team, June Mar Fajardo and Andres Paul Desiderio (basketball), Apple Eve Saraum, Erika Camille Verano and University of Southern Philippines Foundation (beach volley), Cebu Tenpin Bowling Association (CETBA), Milan Melindo, Rey Bautista, AJ Banal, Rocky Fuentes, Sammy Gello-ani, Jack Tepora and Daryl Pucdol (boxing), IM Kim Steven Yap, Cebu Executives and Professionals Chess Association (chess), Luis Miguel “Igimax” Maximo (cycling), Luis Ansag (dragon boat), Dancesport Team Cebu City, Jun Santillan, Jose Paolo Aragon Pascual and Oliver Colina (football), and Lloyd Jefferson Go and Gio Gandionco (golf).

The rest of the honorees are Carmelli Garrovillo and the University of the Visayas (UV) Gymnastics Team, Eichi Yahata (judo), Jette Calderon (karting), Jon Eleazar Adlawan (motocross), Marnel Dimla (pencak silat), Merlita Arias-Dunkin, Bayani Alvarez, Emily Chiongbian, Mary Joy Tabal and Mendel Lopez (running), Noel Flowers, Rose Mae Lanticse, Marie Antonette Gambito, Madille Salinas, Blessie Kate de los Santos, Aiumi Ono, Eloisa Jordan, Mae Ann Ubaub, Ann Kristine Mae Layumas and Jessica Filoteo (rubgy), Rhey Jey Ortouste (sepak takraw), Anthony Linn Navarro (swimming), Daniel Jay Tormis (table tennis), Jacob Lagman, Arthur Craig Pantino and Cebu International Tennis Center, Inc. (lawn tennis) and Noy Jopson, Rochelle Tan and Lorhiz Echavez-Lopez (triathlon). (Pooled Report)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on March 03, 2012.

No comments: