Monday, January 30, 2012


(click to enlarge)

Published in Sun Star Cebu Newspaper on Jan. 30, 2012 Monday issue
by Mike Limpag, Sports Editor

CHRISTY Tutor and Josphat Kiptanui topped the 10K division of the Phoenix Run yesterday at the Ayala Center Cebu.

Kiptanui, who also won the Unity Run 10K last week, crossed the finish line in 34:16, beating Bonifaco Monjas and Douglas Mwiti, who figured in a neck-and-neck battle for second place.

Monjas got second in 34:33.240, just over a second ahead of Mwiti (34:34.290).

In the women’s division, Tutor crossed the finish line in 43:02, 50 seconds ahead of
second placer Madelyn Carter. Marichu Luterte got third place in 45:29, while Nao Idio got fourth place in 56:06.

In the students division, Maria Carmela Quijano ran her way to the girls title in 58:40, one of only two students to finish the 10K in under one hour. Mary Rose Dakay got second place in 1:10:34.

In the male students division, footballer Aldrich Pelenio got second place in 1:01:48, while Jose Antonio Yu got third in 1:03:44. The first placer who finished the race in 56:37 was not identified in the results forwarded by race director Joel Baring and was only listed as No. 192.

In the 5K division, Abraham Missos added his second straight title with a 16:44 finish, beating Francis Kakui (17:12) and Jorry Ycong (17:20).

In the women’s 5K, Lovely Andrin beat sister Jhean for the title, finishing in 21:15, just eight seconds ahead of her sister. Lynle Cardenas got third in 23:26, 22 seconds ahead of Merlita Dunkin.

In the students division, Hans Earl Parel got first in 33:50, eight seconds faster than Clouie Arreglo. Charles Go got third in 37:49.

Victoria Vecson crusied to the female students 5K division in 35:33, beating Cahrele Badelas (40:33) by five minutes, while Melissa Tan got third in 41:33.

In the 3K division, Aldren Agang got first in 8:36, just three seconds ahead of Robert Daang. Crizel Dionson (10:46) beat Cherry Andrin (11:00) for the women’s title, while Cherie Lee Apiag (15:33) got third.

In the students division, Justin Genson won the 3K over Ralph So, while Aaliyah Mataragnon got the girls division title. Ana Patricia Maximo finished second, while Chezka Cabanal got third place.
Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on January 30, 2012.

No comments: